New Toys, Picnics, and Ruins

DSC01611

I did something I never thought I would do…  I bought a bicycle, and I freaking LOVE it!  I found this little darling on Kijiji for a completely reasonable $50.  I haven’t been on a bicycle since I was a teen and although it was a little hard at first I picked it up again super fast.

Bikeemptyfull

For the maiden voyage I wanted to make it a picnic.  The bike actually holds quite a bit.  I had a full bottle of wine, 2 large bottles of water, a large glass wine glass, picnic blanket, a small full back pack, a light jacket, a couple cloth napkins, a corker, and snacks.  I was really scared before I started because with everything piled in there it was heavy and I was worried about tipping over.  It turned out that wasn’t a worry and I will load that bad boy up again anytime for another picnic.  I still don’t have a name for it yet.  I need one…  I name everything.

DSC01602 DSC01608

We went on the trail that runs from Cambridge to Paris and the plan was to go all the way to Paris, but we only made it as far as Glen Morris and that was okay.  The path is really busy and that freaked me out a little at the start until I got comfortable and wasn’t afraid of smashing into anybody anymore.  For the first km I kept swerving towards the trees and having to put my feet down.  After the first few kms I was doing okay.  We went about 8km and it took about 1 1/2 hours.  We were searching for the German wool mill ruins, but ended up missing them completely on the way there.  We found a great spot on the river to stop and have the picnic.  Of course I had wine with me and the maiden voyage was toasted with one of my homemade bottles of wine (I ended up falling off the no alcohol and 22 Day Vegan Challenge band wagon.  I’ll update that in another post).  It was a gorgeous spot to stop and we spent about an hour there.  I was so mellow and relaxed out there.

DSC01611 DSC01612 DSC01635

We met some people along the trail who told us where to look for the mill.  Apparently, this is a popular spot for wedding photo shots and I can believe that.  There was an engagement photo shoot going on when we finally found it.  We spotted it on the way back and I have no idea how we missed it.  The building was HUGE and very close to the trail.  They were really pretty to explore and then it was time to go back.  It only took about 30 minutes to get back.  I guess it doesn’t take long to relearn how to ride a bike.

I admit I always thought cycling was a little on the wimpy side and not much of a work out.  I mean you are sitting down the whole time!  Well I was wrong.  My legs were aching a little bit and although I didn’t hurt the next day, my legs didn’t have a lot of get go and felt a little sluggish.  I can see how people get super fit on these things.  My poor butt though.   It hurts a lot today.  I think I might have to get one of those gel seat covers.  A longer ride and I think I would be doomed!

picnic basket

I can’t wait until I get to go again!  I am in love with this picnic basket and I want one just like it!  I want to picnic in style and comfort lol..

Peace out.

Amber

Leave a Reply

